Lights: Transportation Cycling II

Copyright 2006 Mark Vancleave, Minneapolis, MN, USA

3 responses to “Lights: Transportation Cycling II”

  1. I will say that modern battery lighting is heaps better than the “Cateye that’s an over glorified flash light that uses 2 D cells and goes dim after a couple hours of use” that I used 20-odd years ago. And dynamo lighting is not perfect, wires can disconnect, fray, etc. But after going dynamo 13 years ago, there is no way I’d go back to battery lighting for my regular utility bikes. The convenience factor trumps everything else—always there, always on. No worries about “are my lights charged?” Or, “Are my lights still on the charger, or did they get stolen?” A contrarian would say, “well, what about your phone?” And if I didn’t have to worry about keeping my iPhone constantly charged, I wouldn’t.

    It’s interesting to see the (de) evolution of Path Less Pedaled. Interview Russ in 2012 he’d probably tell you how great dynamo lighting was. Back then they were more about touring (with panniers!) and practical bikes. I think this pivot to adventure bikes has a lot to do with Russ’s move to YouTube and the constant need to churn out “content”, and the best way to do that is by reviewing new gear.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. On the whole I’m still a PLP fan. I support PLP on Patreon because I really want their angle and perspective to be available. It’s just that Russ has leaned heavily into the ‘gravel’ world and this has effected the kind of content he makes and the things he values. He’s dipping his toes again into panniers! However he’s also putting them on a removable rack, because at this point having a permanently attached rack fitted to the bike is apparently too much.

      I use him as a contrast to what I’m doing because I think he and I are still in the same cycling world. The mainstream is still road and mtb performance oriented so the difference would be so stark that nothing could be clarified in a meaningful way. On the other hand, our perspectives have diverged enough that it inspired me to start this blog in the first place!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, I still think what Russ is doing is overall good. And it is nice that he manages to be an “influencer” while being relatively close in age to me–there are not a lot of over 40 influencers in the bike world. (It’s also nice to have a perspective from a poc.) And I think that a lot of his current thinkings are influenced by Big Gravel, because that’s where the money is in this bike-influencing world. Transportation cycling is not sexy and there’s no companies out there trying to push their boring old practical cycling products.

        That being said, I still think it’s funny/weird that Russ has the “dynamo lighting is too heavy” take that used to be a lot more prominent a decade or so ago, especially when it came to “performance”. I’m no fan of Jan Heine, but if he can ride hundreds and hundreds of miles at one clip with heavy ol’ dynamo lighting and still beat everyone else, the whole “dynamos slow you down” (at least hub ones) trope no longer has a leg to stand on.

        (The other thing I like about Jan is that he’s a vegetarian, which is a nice counter to the whole Grant Petersen “Eat Bacon Don’t Jog” philosophy.)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started