Alternative To What? Handlebars & Transportation: Part I

  • They are comfortable, both for long and short rides
  • They can have more useable positions than drops
  • They put one in a position to better take in the environment around them while riding. This makes them safer
  • This positioning is well suited to the repeated starting and stopping of urban riding
  • They offer more control, especially while braking

7 responses to “Alternative To What? Handlebars & Transportation: Part I”

  1. Thank you for this post, Tony. I don’t care about “alt” bars, I care about bars that work for me. I’m glad that I finally made the move away from drops on the Bantam earlier this year, and I wish I had done it sooner. But that whole “drop bars for serious bikes” and “you should have at least one drop bar bike” thinking held sway over me for far too long. And I’m sure it’s the same for others.

    I also dig the Left Bank bars. I’ve had them on the Superbe for three years. At first I was worried that they wouldn’t be wide enough, but it didn’t take me that long to get used to them.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I get it! Even as recently as 2018 I was spec’ing my main bike with drops. It only took a couple weeks to realize I’d made a mistake. About a week ago I decided to take the drops off my road bike. Even at a comfortable height I realized I just don’t like them. And I don’t have to use them if I don’t like them! Even if I want a fun, sprightly, go-fast bike, I can have it with the right swept back bars. I came to this understanding by having the Velo Orange Porteur bars on my fixed gear bike, which is the bike I’m actually fast on.

      One of the last Velo Orange Belleville bars in the wild is up on Portland’s Craigslist, and I so want to try them. Alas!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Tony–thanks for diving into this stuff! I’ve always resented the false binary of “road or mtb” as though there is some actual clear delineation. Its been beaten into us as though it is a meaningful distinction, which of course there is at the extremes, but most of us exist in the deep middle. I suppose “gravel” is trying to save us from the choice.

    To your point, I rode for years without ever dropping into the drops other than briefly, but rapidly returned to the bends/hoods. That shifted once I reluctantly went for a thorough fitting and learned how over-extended I was in every direction. After a significant reconfiguration of my bike, I find the drops a functional if not enjoyable place I can go on the bike.

    Sometimes folks refer to “townie” or “crusier” bikes. I hate those terms (and often the bikes themselves)–its like the bike you’d enjoy riding on the beach boardwalk or down the shopping boulevard but throw in the ditch once you see a hill because your saddle is about a foot over the pedals. Its the domination of style over function, and yet they too are nudging from the other side at that zone you are covering here–in their case comfort over efficiency, but on some level they too want to reach towards that place of optimal happiness on a bike–categories be damned.

    Cheers,

    Dave

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you responded, Dave. I really did mean it when I made the caveat that some people genuinely like their drops. And more power to those of you who do! I only think they shouldn’t be a default for most bikes, but only an option.

      Like

      1. oh–I should have made it clear how very much aligned I am with you on this stuff! I think my landing on drops is really a fact of habit more than active choice at some point. (Drops came after the mustaches roughly 20 years ago).

        Sometimes it becomes easier to stay with whatcha know out of laziness and familiarity. I want to try swept back bars one of these days!

        Like

  3. Timely. I’m pondering what to use on a current build. In my online travels, I see that the definition of “alt” bars is quite broad. Two weeks ago, I thought alt bar meant Jones, VO Crazy, or the like. Deep into the vintage and antique scene, I consider Dutch pullbacks and Northroad style bars to merely be bars from a different era. Making somewhat of a comeback because they feel good (and to my eye, look fine as well). I feel like I could put the Albatross on any bike (save for folders), and be happy. –Wilson

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh neat, what build are you working on right now?

      I sort of vibe with what you are saying about “Dutch pullbacks” and North Roads being “from a different era”- that’s why I kept trying to think of a “third category of bike.” But in the end I felt that in the new “all road era” that distinction breaks down. What I wanted to say was that we should reject the idea that “city bikes” are not themselves legitimate in their own right, without reference to road and mtb bikes; but in the end a “city bike” is too narrow to work for what I was trying to get at. Is my bike a “city bike” or an “upright all road bike?” 42mm tires and aggressive geometry doesn’t fall under traditional “city bikes;” and yet I ride it in the city primarily, have full fenders and racks- which feels quite “city.”

      In the end it’s more about how we use language than about an essential category. Or at least that’s how I see it. And in America we just have to deal with the fact that transportation bikes barely exist.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started